UGA Student Government Association

The organized voice for every student at the University of Georgia.

Executive Branch

 

President Drew Jacoby (center), Vice President Jim Thompson (right), and Treasurer Brittany Arnold (left)

Meet the Officers

The Executive Branch covers the administration aspect of SGA. It is composed of the Cabinet, Committees and the Freshman Programs.

The Cabinet acts as the authority of the Executive Staff and is made up of the Chief of Staff, Executive Secretary, Attorney General, External Director of Internal Affairs, External Director of External Affairs,  Freshman Programs Directors, Athletic Board Representative, and Directors of Student Services, Policy, Programming, Public Relations, Finance, ACC Relations, and State Relations. Cabinet coordinates and implements Executive initiatives among the general student community through the work on their various committees.

Freshman Programs are comprised of three unique organizations: Freshman Board, Freshman Focus, and Freshman Forum. These programs serve as a means to provide leadership experiences to first-year students at UGA. For more information on these programs, please visit our Freshman Programs page.

Executive Leadership

The President serves as the head of the executive branch. This individual works to represent UGA’s student body and enhance the student experience through leading the organization, policy creation, and meeting with campus administrators. Duties include, but not limited to: serving on University-wide committees, making appointments to such committees, and serving on the Board of Regents Student Advisory Council.

The Vice President serves as the presiding officer of Senate. In addition to these Senate duties, the Vice President also assists the other executive branch officers in fulfilling organizational goals and representing the student body.

The Treasurer serves as the presiding officer of the Small Clubs Allocation committee and chairs the Student Activity Fee Allocation committee, as approved by the Vice President for Student Affairs. In this capacity, the Treasurer also oversees the SGA budget.

The Chief of Staff serves as the senior advisor to the President, Vice President, and Treasurer. In this role, the Chief of Staff assists the Executive officers in crafting policy and implementing initiatives. The Chief of Staff also leads the Cabinet and manages committee directors.

The Executive Secretary serves as another advisor to the Executive officers. In this role, the Executive Secretary assists with coordinating logistics for the President, Vice President, and Treasurer. Tasks include, but are not limited to, making reservations and executive agendas, and compiling data and necessary materials for meetings.

2013 – 2014 SGA Executive Branch Contact List 

Drew Jacoby
President
drewmichaeljacoby@gmail.com
Jim Thompson
Vice President
jim.thompson621@gmail.com
Brittany Arnold
Treasurer
brarnold92@aol.com
Megan Ernst
Chief of Staff
megernst@uga.edu
Rachel Surminsky
External Director of Internal Affairs rachelsurminsky@gmail.com
Devon Griger
External Director of External Affairs
devonmichaela@gmail.com
David Goldsmith
Senior Advisor davidson.goldsmith@gmail.com
Will Walker
Attorney General
wcwalker@uga.edu
Connor Dunn
Director of Student Services
jcdunn@uga.edu
Tim Heigl
Director of Policy
theigl@uga.edu
Taylor Walden
Director of Programming
jtwalden@uga.edu
Nicole Chrzanowski
Director of Public Relations
nicolech@uga.edu
Drake Newton
Director of Finance
drake.w.newton@gmail.com
Houston Gaines
Director of ACC Relations
hgaines@uga.edu
Grant Thomas
Director of State Relations
gthom92@uga.edi
BeAna Stone
Freshman Programs Director
bdwstone@uga.edu
Alex Reinecke
Freshman Board Advisor
reinecke@uga.edu
Taylor Lamb
Freshman Board Advisor
tlamb@uga.edu
Liz Tarver
Freshman Focus Director
liztarv@uga.edu
Alex Caille
Freshman Focus Director axcaille@uga.edu
Gracie Rowe
Freshman Focus Director
growe@uga.edu
Gabe Cuomo
Freshman Forum Director
gcuomouga@gmail.com
Maggie Smith
Freshman Forum Director
mgs1211@uga.edu
Lindsay Cohen
Freshman Forum Director
lindzcohen8@gmail.com
Annelise Wornat
Director of Legislative Affairs
awornat@uga.edu
Shontel Stewart
Secretary of the Senate
shontel3@uga.edu
Shawn Balcomb
Parliamentarian sbalcomb@uga.edu
Erin Munger
Director of Student Legal Services
emunger@uga.edu
Davis Parker
Student Athletic Board Representative
davisparker33@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.